The writer sits, heaving a sigh….

Dear sweet baby Jesus….

I have lost a portion of work as in, I cannot find it anywhere.  And I mean gone.  It was supposed to be on the almighty zip drive….but it isn’t.  Now, I could look at this a couple of different ways.  First way, first… I could scream, throw a book across the room and maybe drop kick said zip drive.  As you can imagine, that did not work well….

Second way to view this unsettling development would be to take a deep breath, sit in child’s pose for a bit and fall asleep.  Ahhhh, much better… other than the cramps from sleeping for close to an hour with my forehead on the floor.  No worries, a nice hot bath sorted it all out.

Now, to rewrite.  Was the lost manuscript a work of pure genius?  Oh no… that it was not.  It was actually pretty bad, which i discovered right before I fell asleep.  Maybe that’s why the nap transpired in the first place?  At any rate… back to the drawing board with renewed verve.  Verve?  Is that a word?

~ by caelascreator on May 9, 2012.

5 Responses to “The writer sits, heaving a sigh….”

  1. This reminds me of back in the days before Dropbox, before the internet, the day of the 1990s IBM 8086 computer and Word Perfect. One day I came home, and my little brother had wiped out everything on the computer, including my diary for the last 3 years as well as a novel I was writing, because he needed space to install a game….ah.. the good old days of funky tech…

  2. Three years! oh dear… i feel bad now for complaining! I actually own two typewriters…both family “treasures” But at least I would have a hard copy! If I could find it on my desk….

  3. LOL still writing in meatspace? How quaint…
    However, it does bring to mind the picture of a true “writer”—someone punching keys on a typewriter and throwing wadded up papers into a wastebasket…

  4. Oh dear. Having lost a large chunk of my novel before, I think I know what you must be going through. But hey, rewrites almost always turn out better?

  5. Verve is indeed a word, and a right good one at that. Don’t feel bad about the loss, it happens to most of us at some point. A good backup plan (or a highly paranoid one) is helpful. Excellent news that it was not a masterpiece!

Leave a Reply

 
